Brand New WhatsApp Features Rolled Out: ‘View Once’ & the ‘Multi Device Beta’
View Once WhatsApp Feature
Recently the social media giant WhatsApp revealed its “View Once” feature. With the feature, you can get more control over your chat privacy as the photos and videos will be deleted after the recipient takes a peek at them.
The Facebook-owned messaging app rolled out this option recently due to the increasing questions on its safety concerns. Users can send WhatsApp videos and photos to the intended recipient with the disappearing alternative to prevent the media from getting stored in their gallery.
However, one can take a screenshot or do a screen recording at the moment when the media is opened. Also, if you are sending the “View Once” WhatsApp videos or photos, you won’t be able to see them again.
What else does the WhatsApp feature allow?
The view once photos cannot be forwarded, starred, saved, or shared because of privacy concerns, and so users are increasingly opting for the WhatsApp features. What’s more interesting is if the recipient doesn’t open the photo or video within 14 days of it being sent, the media will expire from the chat. If someone sends a disappearing media on WhatsApp, they can see a recipient has opened the photo or video only when they have their read receipts.
At the backup time, if the View Once WhatsApp videos or photos are left unopened, they can be restored. But, if the media has already been opened, then they can’t be restored post backup. Also, to send a View Once the photo or video, users must select the option every time they want to send a photo or video. There is no such option that permanently enables the disappearing exchange of media.
How to enable the WhatsApp Videos And Photos ‘View Once’ Option?
While sending photos or videos, users can make it View Once by tapping on the “1” button placed at the right-hand side of the chat box and left side of the send button. When the users do so, after the recipient views the photo or video, it will disappear at once.
In a recent blog post, WhatsApp asserted that the View Once feature can be used for sharing sensitive information like Wi-Fi passwords or other IDs, a quick reaction to any moment in time, or something more personal that requires enhanced privacy options. Just like all the texts that are sent on WhatsApp, the View Once media is protected by end-to-end encryption and so WhatsApp cannot see the messages.
Anything else you should know?
In a nutshell, the disappearing messages are just like any other texts on WhatsApp except the fact that they can disappear after a single glance by the intended recipient. You can send this message to an individual, group, or business account. There is no limitation to that, but remember that the recipient can take screenshots or do a screen of the media. Also, unlike Snapchat that notifies you after someone captures a screenshot, Whatsapp has no such feature, so be careful of what you send.
The ephemeral messages are an initiative by Whatsapp to help users gain more control over their privacy. Recently there have been many questions and speculations on how the privacy concerns are becoming grave on platforms like WhatsApp, which compelled the company to work on its security features. WhatsApp has also been talking about bringing end-to-end encryption to its full stable of messaging services because of Mark Zuckerberg’s privacy-focused vision.
The Linked Multi-Device Beta WhatsApp Feature
WhatsApp has brought about a huge change in the messaging platform by introducing its new linked multiple device functionality specifically for its beta users. With the support of these brand-new WhatsApp features, users will be able to find a solution to a long-standing issue by using WhatsApp from different devices simultaneously without the main device being connected to the internet. All the private texts, calls, and other media will remain as end-to-end encrypted.
What else does the linked multi-device feature allow?
This linked multi-device beta programme provides users with quick access to try the new version of WhatsApp for Desktop, Web, and Portal. The users will also be able to connect up to four devices with their account involving browsers, except another phone.
This feature is useful for anyone whose phone doesn’t possess an active internet connection. It is important to note that, however, if there is no linkup with the main device for above 14 days, then all the other connected devices will log out automatically.
The multi-device Beta is essentially available for the beta users of the latest version of WhatsApp and WhatsApp Business Applications on Android and iPhone in a limited number of countries. However, WhatsApp has notified us that they will be spreading this multi-device feature worldwide as well.
How to enable the linked multi-device Beta option?
First and foremost, users must update to the latest version of WhatsApp on their devices. Once they have joined into the multi-device beta, they’ll need to relink to their companion devices.
For Android devices, users must first open their WhatsApp application and go to the ‘tap more’ option where they can find the ‘Linked Devices’ option. After tapping on the ‘Linked Devices’ option, they will get the ‘Multi-device beta’. Once they tap on the ‘Multi-device’ beta option, they can easily enable the link between the devices by tapping the ‘Join Beta’ option.
In the case of the iPhone, users must first go to the settings of the WhatsApp application. There they will easily get the ‘Linked Devices’ option. Once they tap on the ‘Linked Devices’ option, they can follow the same steps as Android users, i.e., tapping on “multi-device beta” and then “Join Beta”.
Anything else you should know about linked device Beta?
Although the linked multi-device beta possesses so much usefulness, it is also important to know about the list of WhatsApp functions which cannot be performed on the linked devices. Functions like viewing live locations on companion devices and pinning chats on WhatsApp Web cannot be done from linked devices.
The users won’t be able to join, view or reset the group invites from WhatsApp Web or Desktop and have to use their phones instead. It will not be possible to message or call a person who is operating from an old and un-updated version of WhatsApp on their phones.
It will also be difficult to make calls from WhatsApp Desktop or Portal to a linked device that is not enrolled as a multi-device beta. WhatsApp Business Application users won’t be able to edit their user labels or names from the WhatsApp Desktop or Web.
Kunika Singhal is an experienced freelance content writer and editor. With over 9 years of writing, proofreading, and editing, Kunika has a uniquely wry voice that shines through in her newest collection of articles on the importance of finance, cryptocurrency, technologies, and automations (including SaaS).
She works and lives out of her home with her “husband”. She is obsessed with “books, her work, and tea”. When she’s not writing, she can be found wandering through nature or gossiping at a tea shop.
For more information about Kunika and her articles, visit Kunika Singhal